ELF Cosmetics Haul/ Swatches/ Review

Capture

ELF is one of my favourite make-up brands because they do great cosmetics for cheap prices. They also do a lot of dupes of high end brands. I did a little haul for some of their products which I will review and swatch for you.

The first product is the High Definition Powder which retails for £6.95. They come in three colours but I went for Translucent option. This is a dupe for the MUFE HD Powder. HD Powders are really finely milled white powders which you use at the end of your make-up routine to remove shine from your face. This HD powder blurs your skin to make it look airbrushed. The powder also makes skin completely matte which is brilliant because my T-zone can get super oily. I would recommend this with for anyone who hasn’t had much luck with normal pressed powders because this really keeps shine at bay. One thing to note is to apply this very lightly and blend the product out because you don’t want to be left with a white cast.

Untitled
Left up- Packaging with powder puff. Left down- Close up of HD powder. Middle- Hand with facial oil. Right- Hand after HD powder is applied (all shine gone!)

Next I bought the ELF Blush in Twinkle Pink (£3.95) which is a dupe for Nars Super Orgasm. This is a light pink pressed powder blush with flecks of glitter in it. I use is as a highlight because the colour is a bit too light for my skintone to be used as a blush. This blush is really lightweight and blends out nicely but unfortunately I’m not a big fan of this colour because it’s a bit too glittery for me.

Untitled
L-R: With flash, without flash

I also bought two of the Baked Blushes for £3.95. One is Rich Rose which is a coral brown colour, perfect for bronzing and Peachy Cheeky which is a light peach colour. I LOVE these blushes. They give the skin a pearl finish and they look really expensive. You can wear them alone, or layer on top of other product as a bronzer or highlighter. I use the Blush Brush from Elf (£3.95- pictured at the top of the post) to blend this blush.

Untitled
Peachy Cheeky: left with flash, right without flash
Untitled
Rich Rose: Left with flash, right without flash

I bought ELF Mineral Blush in Peachy (£5.95). The mineral blush is free from parabens, dyes and preservatives. Peachy is a deep peach colour which blends to a dewy finish. It has a slight shimmer to it which gives the skin a glow.

Untitled
L-R With flash, without flash

I bought two HD Blushes in Diva and Encore (£4.50 each). Both are hot pink blushes but Encore is slightly darker with a purple undertone. They are a dupes for MUFE HD Blushes. This blush comes in a pump which actually dispenses more product that you need, because a little goes a loooooong way. It is a mousse-cream which blends to a dewy soft finish. Once the HD Blush has been blended it looks just like my natural skin which I love.

I do find this blush quite difficult to blend with my fingers so I use the Studio Stipple Brush (£3.95 pictured at the top of the post) also from ELF to blend the product. This brush is a super soft synthetic brush and has two layers of bristle to give the skin an airbrush finish.

Untitled
Left swatch: Diva. Right swatch: Encore. Left picture with flash. Right picture without flash.

Finally I bought one of the Baked Eyeshadows in Burnt Plum (£3.95). This colour is so beautiful, it’s a deep warm toned purple eyeshadow and can be used dry or wet. To really make the eyeshadow colour pop and last I use the Eyelid Primer in the colour Sheer (£1.95) which works amazingly well for its price.

Untitled
Burnt Plum Baked Eyeshadow. Left with flash, right without flash
IMG_1702
Eyelid primer

Which ELF products do you love? Let me know in the comments sections 🙂

Jay x

One thought on “ELF Cosmetics Haul/ Swatches/ Review

  1. Elf has some really good products! In currently using some of their brushes, the HD powder and an all in one colour stick for blush! Looks like you got a great haul 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a comment